Isn’t She Lovely

Random thoughts on genetics

I am at our daughters Honors Choir rehearsals where in the five hours she is here today (a forty-minute drive from home) I promised myself I would get this blog done (mainly because it is the only time I am going to get alone where I can write). I have pulled out, and put away my lap top about ten times already and they are half way through. I cannot think of anything to write about except the overwhelming feeling of joy watching my girl sing her heart out. So here I sit now, in a dark auditorium balcony typing vigorously, with the background music of one hundred-plus beautifully talented third and fourth graders making memories and learning, learning, learning. Our daughter got a lot from her father, her beautiful olive skin tone, dark eyes and hair to match, her stubborn, take no crap attitude, and her incredible sponge like memory for music and beautiful voice. I really hit the jack pot when picking a mate to breed with. One of the biggest blessing of paring with a musician is the chance of having your children inherit their amazing musical talent. The Husband inherited his from his parents who were in a band while he was growing up. Me on the other hand, I did inherit my grandmother’s turnip nose and opaque Irish skin, but definitely not my grandfather’s musical talent. I like to sing, but really don’t have much of a quality talent for it. My voice is much better written and I have no patience for picking up an instrument. You can tell that with our love for music and the husbands talent it sure has rubbed off.

17202780_10207846756996347_4058658890603543869_n (2)
My beautiful ballerina

Things that I love about my kids is that they have completely different tastes in music already, our son likes it heavy like his dad, and as for the daughter, she likes to dance, like her mother. For Christmas, this year their grandma got them headphones, so we bought them SD cards to download music on (and you could slip them right in the headphones, technology is so cool, but I am tech illiterate so these things still amaze me). They love them and I have thoroughly enjoyed watching them become their own, they have surprised me by how different their music taste has evolved. They took different paths to get their music. The Son went straight to Dad, and surprisingly his three top favorite songs aren’t as heavy as I expected (I know because he doesn’t think he is singing them over top the blaring headphones for everyone to hear) his favorites are: Stacy’s Mom by Fountains of Wayne, 1985 by Bowling for Soup, and Calling You by Blue October. The Daughter got into Grandpa’s stash, full of smooth classic hits, she is a big fan of The Carpenters now. They truly are opposites.

17190660_10207846702194977_5604628671073075251_n
Just a boy and his hero.

None the less I see them both enjoy music in their own ways. The Daughter involves herself in music and dance, much like her mother did through childhood. She loves being part of a group, learning it always. She is my choir bug, but isn’t as musical at home but loves her structured ballet and choir concerts. The Son, like his cool rebel father, loves absorbing pop culture, figuring out bands, and learning different genres, he is all willy-nilly with his music, loves singing and listening by himself and an unstructured way of learning. It surprises me because when it comes to anything else in their life, this is opposite. The Son needs neat structure in school, his room is always more tidied and organized; and The Daughter is all over the place, messy room, and loud clothing. Genetics and development are so weird, but so cool. Obviously, we are not living unless we have music in our souls and there are different types of ways we absorb it but it is amazing to watch our babies grow with music surrounding them.

Author: thebandwifelifeblog

I am a mother of two healthy, happy children, the wife of an amazingly talented and loving husband, a daughter, sister, and friend. Between working full time, keeping up with my kids and husbands activities I thought "Hey, why not start a blog, that's a crazy idea!" And here we are, tired, perpetually confused, and enjoying so much of life.

Leave a Reply

