Stitches

How to fail at all your good intentions.

I am possibly the worst person when it comes to time management. I stay up all night watching Netflix, then I am too tired to get up at a decent hour in the morning and rush around to get to work. I lay in bed after I get out of work for an hour just staring at my phone before my kids get home when I could be productive. I hang out and do nothing all afternoon until minutes before the husband gets home then rush around to make some dinner (maybe) and do the dishes. Okay, maybe I am just lazy, but to quote Augusten Burroughs’ book, Magical Thinking: stitch-269722_960_720_LIWhen it comes to the band wife life, much like most other busy lifestyles, time management needs to be your friend. I, my friends, am my own worst enemy. I am still working on getting priorities in order, let alone managing the time I do not ever have enough of.

I try to prioritize The Husbands’ shows, especially now that they are going to tour soon, and I won’t be able to make it to any of those. So I try to get in as many local ones as I can now but really, it isn’t an easy task. Between babysitters, money, and just not having the damned time. Tonight, I made the kids my priority. I have been working crazy hours and today was no exception, after an eleven-hour work day I was in no shape to be going out, I haven’t seen my kids in over twelve hours, and I wasn’t about to ask my mom who had them since after school if she could work over time babysitting so I could run out to see The Husband play. Sometimes that is appropriate, but this was not the time for that. It is so hard sometimes, feeling like you’re being pulled in all directions. You try to be a good parent, a supportive spouse, a stellar employee; but, dang guys, there is only one of me! There are so many times when priorities and time management are not my game. last night I said screw it to going out and I took my babies home, we did some chores, made a quiche for breakfast in the morning, and played a quick game of Trivial Pursuit (my favorite).  I set the coffee pot for the morning so I can get up early and get this post published for all my adoring fans awaiting my next in-depth thoughts and exciting life. Now that the kids are asleep I sit typing feverishly (because I didn’t use my time wisely to write at all this week) while watching live video of the husband playing (thank you, awesome technology and friends/band fans).

17626249_10207983793542175_2027840978608755387_n
A favorite way to spend our evenings. If you look close, they are pink, I am green, they killed it (in my defense it is the young players edition, wait, that isn’t helping)!     

We have at least figured out how to prioritize which shows I go see. The husbands band is a double threat, they play covers and originals. Being that cover shows are mainly for more money to fund the band and down time, they are not as exciting (we are talking four hours of them on stage, and everyone is just sitting around eating and getting drunk, so… they are kind of boring) nor is it as important for me to go. I don’t even get to see the husband on these nights anyways because the whole night is taking up with him playing. Where original shows they usually get about thirty to forty-five minutes of stage time before the next band gets up and it is more important they bring a crowed to these ones. So, I go to the original shows more than covers. I also have a very convenient work schedule where I go in later on Fridays (hello Friday morning coffee and blogging) being that a lot of their shows are on Thursdays this comes in handy (when I am not working eleven or twelve hours). It will become more convenient when the children are out of school so I don’t have to worry about getting them to school the next morning.

So, yeah, welcome to my crazy ass life. I think everyone has their own way of juggling, I am still figuring this out; but hey, speaking of time management tonight I got all my chores done and then some so we can have time in the morning together, yay me! But to be honest, it might also be that I found a dead mouse in my sink when I got home, after walking in the door and being hit in the face with a smell so pungent I could no longer deny the house work, so the kids and I went on a sniff hunt. Either way, it all gets done, everything will always get done one way or another and I wont miss out on any of the fun when I remind myself to try to sit back and enjoy the ride, where ever it takes me.

Author: thebandwifelifeblog

I am a mother of two healthy, happy children, the wife of an amazingly talented and loving husband, a daughter, sister, and friend. Between working full time, keeping up with my kids and husbands activities I thought "Hey, why not start a blog, that's a crazy idea!" And here we are, tired, perpetually confused, and enjoying so much of life.

2 thoughts on “Stitches”

Leave a Reply

